Days 26-28: In Which We Party and I Sink Into Inexplicable Depression

Today’s weight: 217.0

This weekend was so hard. We did birthday partying and I have had SO MUCH CAKE.

We did a lot of stuff. We went out and had fun times, we had friends over and had delicious cake and high-calorie delicious food, and the result is another uptick in the weight. Not as much as it could be, all things considered.

Yesterday I should have been up and working and getting things done but instead I spent most of the day sleeping, the result of sleeping pills that I shouldn’t have taken, and the rest of it reading.

This morning I got up and went to the school to help with the little one’s field trip. This is how I found out that my ex and his new wife are no longer packing them snacks for school. The little one is underweight–she’s fought her way up from the second percentile on weight to the 11th, but she’s still very small–and she was the only one in her class that didn’t have food at snack time today. I didn’t see it coming and didn’t have anything to give her. It was terrible.

They told me earlier this year that the older one was banned from snacks by her doctor. After this nonsense today, I called the doctor. That’s all a lie.

I don’t understand this at all. It takes practically no money or effort to get them snacks. They could buy a box of granola bars for less than 2 dollars and that would cover both children for a week. It could cost less if they used in-season fruit the way we do.

I don’t even know what to say or do about that.

For tonight I’m planning on walking the dogs and that’s about it. An early bedtime and maybe I can finally shake off this funk.

Leave a Reply

