Victory at the Perinatologist

The perinatologist says I do NOT have the dreaded preeclampsia. Instead, his best guess is that last spring when I was taking ibuprofen around the clock for months to deal with the pain of the dental issues, I did some damage to my kidneys. This damage is minor and should repair itself in time, but the added stress that the pregnancy put on my kidneys is enough to trigger the protein in my urine.

This doesn’t mean that I won’t develop it later; in fact, the fact that my kidneys are a bit weak is an additional risk factor for preeclampsia. For the foreseeable future, I’ll do a 24 hour urine collection test and the blood tests that go with it once a month, following which I’ll see the perinatologist and he’ll look at the baby to be sure that everything is ok.

He’s sure the headaches are tension headaches, which makes me wish I had the income for regular massages, and he switched my pain meds to something that seems to work better for me.

For now, that means that I’m no longer on bedrest. It also means that we can start to think of this child as being a viable possibility again. The ultrasound he did indicates that the baby is perfect, all the organs are there and seem to be working properly, the bones are all there and the right sizes. The second blood test for Down’s syndrome also came back clear, so there is every reason to think this baby will be fine.

It’s a tremendous relief. I’m going to do the best I can to get back to work now that I can focus again. The anxiety these last couple of weeks has been so intense that I was barely sleeping and couldn’t even finish reading a single chapter of any book or any episode of any show.

 

Leave a Reply

