Still High-Risk and Surgery

We had our follow up with the perinatologist this week. The baby is fine, still measuring slightly bigger than its real age. Baby is now one pound, four ounces and is fine. The results of the 24 hour urine re-test show that I’m in the same general range of terribleness as I was before, slightly higher than before but still in the minor preeclampsia range.

The doctor thinks that I’m looking at a forty percent change of being on bedrest from the preeclampsia by the end of the pregnancy, but that I’ll probably be ok until we hit the third trimester in six weeks. I see him again at the third trimester mark and then we will re-evaluate.

Meanwhile, I went in for a cleaning and the world ended. I had all that dental work done last summer so that I’d be in a good place for the baby and when I went in they did some x-rays and the tooth that had the last crown put on over the summer was not right. They called in the periodontist, who did a quick exploratory surgery on the gum and found that the tooth was fractured when the crown was put on. Bacteria that had been living in the fracture had no place to go and so the tooth was decaying from the inside out and was now a shell that the crown was desperately clinging to. The only treatment for no tooth bone mass is tooth removal. So I had my tooth removed.

I’ve spent the week bleeding and in pain, since the normal things you would use for post-oral surgery pain relief (vicodin, tylenol 3) are not an option for me with the pregnancy. Once the baby comes we have to discuss the implant situation. It’s not at all a happy situation.

 

Leave a Reply

