Baby Disaster

Last week, as discussed, we finally got into the pediatric urologist, who looked at the baby and rather than confirm the diagnosis of the previous two pediatricians and schedule his circumcision, changed his diagnosis entirely. It is not, as previously thought, chordee. Rather, it is something called penoscrotal webbing. And his case is fairly severe. The condition requires surgery to correct and they want to do it when he turns 6 months old, which is the age at which the risks of general anesthesia drop to the same as for an adult. About 1 in 100,000 people will have a severe complication from anesthesia, which are good odds. And indeed, general anesthesia is used fairly frequently on infants, since any test or procedure that requires them to be still requires general anesthesia. The good news is that it is an outpatient procedure, and the facility shares a parking lot with the children’s hospital. Also, the pediatric urologists at this facility are nationally ranked, so that’s reassuring. It’s still terrifying and I spent the better part of two days crying. I’m wondering if I can get a prescription for a stronger anxiety medication than the buspar, because I’ll be a mess on surgery day.

We see the urologist again in November, and assuming the situation hasn’t changed, the baby is likely to be scheduled for surgery right before the end of the year. At least, that’s the best case scenario because 1) he won’t be big enough to undo his diaper and touch it while it heals, which I imagine would be a big problem in a toddler or a preschooler 2) he’s not going to be moving around, crawling or whatever, which would likely pull on his stitches, and 3) we’re on the platinum plan until January 1, which caps our out of pocket on his care at 1500. Since we’ll be on the hook for 20 percent of his surgery, I can’t imagine we’d get a better deal next year when we’re going to be on a silver or a gold plan.

We did some things with the older kids last weekend–took them swimming, went bird watching, went to the Harry Potter book release party–most of which the baby slept through, as usual.

I did some actual work this week, which is good. I’m starting to slowly build myself back to where I was.

I did the bloodwork for the endocrinologist and she’s going to decrease my dosage. I expected that, since I’m on nearly twice the dose I was on pre-pregnancy, but I’m not happy about it. I feel better on the higher dose, of course, and considering that my weight is stable at this dose I expect to have to start slashing calories dramatically just to maintain my weight when they drop the dosage. Not awesome.

Tomorrow we take the baby on his first road trip and his first overnight trip outside the house, as we go to see my in-laws. In a moment of unexpected wonderfulness, my husband’s grandfather gave us a truck, which is sitting at my in-laws house as we speak. I’m nervous about the increase in car insurance because we’re already squeezed incredibly tightly over here, but it will make such a difference to us to have a second car. As it is, I have to go in to work with the husband and drop him off any time I need the car, and then pick him up again at the end of the day. I’m doing a lot of driving and it really complicates the schedule, especially with the kids activities.

That’s our week. One big awful thing and one big wonderful thing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

