Forward and Back

I’ve been working hard and making money. Not a LOT of money, since my per word rates are still lower than I like, but I have been making some money. Which is great, because I owe money on gymnastics lessons every month now.

But then yesterday I realized it had been some time since I had bought bras for the older child, and her stepmom’s technique is to buy those little bralettes that offer no support when she goes to Walmart. And now that she’s in cross country that’s not going to work. But of course, fit is essential. There’s one place here that I know of that does actual fittings by people who know what they’re doing, it’s the only place that has fit me properly. Obviously, that’s where I took her, with the deep understanding that I would probably be looking at 30 dollars or more on a bra.

As it turns out, my small child is a freaking D cup and needs real bras. Serious bras. Both for day to day living and for running. In the end, I would have loved to pay 30 dollars per bra because I actually ended up spending twice that. But she has good, supportive underwear now.

And in the future, now that we know her size, she can get less expensive daily wear bras, although we will continue to pay for high-quality sports bras because that’s clearly a necessity.

Anyway, the point is, I ended up dropping nearly two months worth of gymnastics money at the bra store. It was incredibly painful.

In other terrible news, my weight has inexplicably gone up two pounds in the last week. I’m eating properly, and I’m doing the daily dog walks, so there’s no real reason that this would happen, but there it is. And since I *am* eating properly and doing the dog walks and my ab exercises, I’m not sure what else I can do to see that drop. I’m working on the theory that it’s hormonal from the re-introduction of birth control to my body and that if I hold the line the weight will drop back in a week or two.

 

Leave a Reply

