Self-Care

There’s been a bit of a medical crisis in the family this week. I’m not ready to talk about it yet–it’s very personal to me at the moment–but I immediately demonstrated how ill-prepared I am for a crisis by falling apart and asking for better anxiety meds.

But my therapist says, no. Work the self care.

I’m doing a reasonably good job with the self care. I’m lowering my chore/momming standards, I’m taking hot baths, I’ve acquired and started using aromatherapy at night, I’m doing therapy every day, I’m asking for help from people as much as I can. I’m grounding myself.

My therapist recommended a new to me meditation app. It’s not free, which is a shame because you guys surely know that money is always a crisis, even before we talk about the cost of medical care this week. And the cost of self-care. The app is called Calm and I cannot rave about it enough. It’s spectacular. It’s very calming, and it has sleep stories and I have not had any trouble getting to sleep. That aspect of the insomnia is completely gone.

I’m waking up at 3am, 4am every day, which isn’t great, but still. Progress is progress.

If anyone wants to help offset the costs of the crisis, you can paypal me something at my email address: eloisejtaylor@gmail.com You don’t have to but it would mean a lot to me if you can spare a few dollars to help. We’re definitely drowning over here.

Leave a Reply

